Breaking News: 109 Gambian police officers promoted

By Assan Sallah.


A total of 109 senior officers of the Gambia Police Force have been promoted to various ranks ranging from Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) to Commissioner of Police, authorities confirmed.

The promotions took effect on 1st February 2020 and the Office of the Inspector General of Police was officially informed on 22nd May.

According to sources, two (2) officers are promoted to the rank of Commissioner of police; five (5) are promoted to the rank of Deputy Commissioner of police; ten (10) are promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioner of Police; thirteen (13) are promoted to Chief Superintendent of Police; nineteen (19) are promoted to Superintendent of Police; twelve (12) are promoted to Deputy Superintendent of Police, and fourty-eight (48) are promoted to the rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police(ASP) and all promotions were approved by the Personnel Management Office (PMO) at the Quadrangle in Banjul.

This promotion has been described as the largest in the Gambia Police Force since the new government came from 2017 to date.

Below is the list of all the promoted officers.


Amie Nyassi

Ousman Cham


Deputy Commissioner of Police

Sireh Jabang

Siaka AL Joof

Jabang JK Sonko

Gorgi Mboob

Samba Jawo


Assistant Commissioner of Police

Tamsir Bah

Famara Saidykhan

Mustapha Sowe

Dembo Trawally

Alieu Badara Badjie

Yamundow Jagne

Gibril Lowe

Fakebba Darboe

Mustapha Ndong

Famara Jobarteh


Chief Superintendent of Police

Mbanjick Saine

Gidom Baldeh

Lamin Ndow

Saineyba Jawara

Yerro Mballow

Omar Danso

Habib Sanyang

Ebrima Kanyi

Abu Ceesay

Buba F.S Bah

Foday Fofana

Lamin Jaiteh

Abdoulie B. Secka


Superintendent of Police

Alhagie Jallow

Famara Sanneh

Salifu Gindo Ceesay

Karanlang Jatta

Musa Sanyang

Ndey B. Mbye

Yusupha Saine

Marie Tamba

Yaya Manjang

Harry Sambou

Lamin Njie

Mam Bintou Ndong

Musa Camara

Almameh S. Manga

Jamboye Camara

Momodou K. Sanneh

Gass Sabally

Ousman Mboge

Alieu B. Sowe


Deputy Superintendent of Police

Daniel Ndeckey

Dawda Jobe

Lamin S. Kassam

Modou A.B. Sillah

Lamin Badjie

Suntu Keita

Abdoulie Touray

Mariama Jeng

Alagie Gibba

Jerreh Sambou

Abdoulie Sowe

Sulayman Kah


Assistant Superintendent of Police

Sulayman Dembel

Basiru Touray

Vincent Y. Demba

Peter Sylva

Omar S. Jabang

Karapha Jatta

Charles Mendy

Momodou Lamin Camara

Momodou Sabally

Ebou S. Touray

Ousman Fofana

Ebrima Krubally

Sang P. Mendy

Magret Jatta

Mary S. Jatta

Francis Jatta

Fatou Fofana

Kebba Manneh

Sitta Sarr

Mariama Jahateh

Momodou Lamin Jarju

Omar Marong

Basirou Mballow

Ballo K. Joof

Pa Musa Sanyang

Muhammed Kuyateh

Mariama Barry

Sutay Jarju

Ansumana F. Sanyang

Baboucarr Barry

Modou I. Joof

Yankuba Colley

Malick Touray

Dawda Jobe

Sulayman Sanyang

Foday Makalo

Paul Gomez

Lamin S. Njie

Aramata Jarju

Pa Meisa Keita

Sainabou L.K. Nyassi

Abdoulie E. A. Bah

Ousman Ndow

Fansu Sanyang

Kebba Jobe

Yankuba Marong

Mansa Mballow

Babou Jeng.

Note: The author, Assan Sallah is a Gambian journalist living in Germany. He was news editor and security affairs reporter at the Daily Observer.


Leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.